Election results 2024 | Samajwadi Party makes comeback in Uttar Pradesh as INDIA bloc leads over NDA

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

In the last election, Akhilesh Yadav‘s party, in partnership with the BSP, won five seats. This time, they have delivered a significant blow to the BJP, which had won 62 seats on its own in 2019.

Samajwadi Party

The Samajwadi Party and Congress of the INDIA bloc are ahead in 34 and 7 Lok Sabha seats respectively in Uttar Pradesh, according to the Election Commission’s data for the 80 parliamentary constituencies. The BJP-led NDA is leading in 35 seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was leading in 35 seats, and its allies, Rashtriya Lok Dal and Apna Dal, were leading in one seat each. Chandrashekhar from the Azad Samaj Party (Kanshiram) had a lead of 109,799 votes over BJP’s Om Kumar.

Prominent leaders with strong leads over their rivals include Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Varanasi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh in Lucknow, Samajwadi Party leaders Akhilesh Yadav and Dimple Yadav in Kannauj and Mainpuri, and Congress candidates Rahul Gandhi and Kishori Lal Sharma in Rae Bareli and Amethi.

SP’s Defeat of BJP

Akhilesh Yadav’s party in UP, previously winning five seats in alliance with the BSP, has significantly defeated the BJP, which had won 62 seats on its own in 2019.

Mr. Yadav led the opposition’s campaign in this crucial state, collaborating effectively with Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress and Arvind Kejriwal’s party.

This was the first general election after the death of SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav. Akhilesh Yadav did not disappoint, as the party now leads in more seats than it did in the 2004 election.

Despite being disparaged as part of the “Do ladko ki jodi” with Rahul Gandhi by Mr. Modi, Akhilesh led a successful opposition campaign.

Running from the Kannauj Lok Sabha seat, Akhilesh campaigned vigorously for his wife Dimple Yadav and three cousins, who were also candidates.

Earlier in the campaign, Akhilesh forced the BJP to rethink its strategy when he responded to their nepotism accusations by saying those without families had no right to criticize others.

This response led BJP leaders and grassroots workers to add “Modi ka Parivaar” to their social media bios.

The SP allocated 18 seats to Congress, one to TMC, and fielded its own candidates in the remaining 80 constituencies.


WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top